Fun days at The Universal Studios, Singapore

Thrill-seekers, adrenaline-lovers and adventure-goers, lend me your eyes because today I shall write the tale of my visits (take note of the ‘s’) at Southeast Asia’s most popular theme park, The Universal Studios, Singapore. Marketed as “one-of-its-kind theme park in Asia”, USS has captivated the hearts of many tourists, I for example. As proof to that, I visited this theme park not once but thrice.

HOW DID I GET HERE?

The  transportation system in Singapore is world-class. As long as you know how to read and follow instructions, believe me, you won’t be lost. There are four ways on how to get to Universal Studios:

1.   By Sentosa Express monorail.   This is the fastest way to get to Universal Studios. Located at the top level of Vivo Ciy, at Harbourfront Station, the Sentosa Express makes it the most accessible type of transportation. The fare is fixed at SGD 4.00 which covers the round-trip travel.

2.   By Bus.   There are three buses going to Resorts World Sentosa: RWS8, 188R and 963R.  I only tried RWS 8 and the fare for this is fixed at SGD 2.00, one way.

3.   By car or taxi.    The expensive way to get to the Universal Studios. All taxi drivers in Singapore know how to get to the theme, so no worries.

4.   By walking through Sentosa Boarwalk.    If you are not conscious of the time, then taking a walk to the Universal Studios from Vivo City is a must-try because of the very scenic view of Singapore harbor.

MY TALE

I love theme parks! I love the rides especially the ones that will make me breathless and seek for adrenaline. Universal Studios never failed me on this matter. Even though I’ve been here for three times, the feelings of amazement whenever a ride The Transformers; the breathlessness on Galactica; the wow! factor on the live stunt show, Waterworld; the adrenaline rush on The Mummy Returns; and the silliness everytime a take a seat on Shrek — these are never gone. I know I will forever be fond of Universal Studios Singapore.

THE FIVE ADVICES

1.   Never forget the park map
Park maps are really important since location and show schedules are indicated here. By having a park map, you can plan to the chronological order of what attraction or show to go first. With a detailed plan, you can ensure that you will experience all (or most) of the what USS has to offer.

2.   Attend a movie-making lesson with Steven Spielberg
Lights, Camera, Action! is located at New York Zone, in front of Sesame Street. At first, I thought this was just an ordinary building to decorate the zone, but I was wrong, this was an awesome attraction wherein you will experience the intensity five level of a hurricane. Amazing show, indeed… and be prepared to get wet.

3.   Watch the street performances
There are a lot of street performances at USS to entertain the visitors. The talents of the performers are world-class so try to watch at least one.

4.   Left-to-right
Upon arrival at the park, people tend to visit the attractions on their right instead of going to the left.  If you go to the right, the first ‘extreme’ attraction is The Transformers. Since this is the most popular attraction, expect to queue for more than an hour (me, an hour and half!). As an advice, go left first… experience Madagascar, then Shrek, The Mummy Returns, Galactica and lastly, The Transformers. When I did this, I queued for only twenty minutes at The Transformers, since most of the guests are done trying this attraction. After going through this recommended attractions, try the remaining others… they are fun.

5.   Experience magic at Waterworld and Hollywood Dreams Parade
Every visit at USS is incomplete if you do not watch the very impressive stunt/pyrotechnic show, the Waterworld. It is really amazing to watch a live action show added with spices such as extremes stunts and pyrotechnics. I’m sure you will get WOWed! by the show. Finally, the Hollywood Dreams Parade is a must-watch. It features some of the popular movies produced by Universal Studios.

A year ago, Universal Studios is just a dream for me. Who would have thought that I will be experiencing its magic thrice in 2013? Oh, dreams really do come true. I will be visiting you again, soon.

Tagged

Leave a comment