Exploring Hahoe Folk Village by Foot

Andong is known to be the capital city of Korean spirit and is the home of Confucianism in Korea as well. The city acted as a home to the noble class during the Joseon period and to this day, these houses are still standing as they are kept up by the relatives of the original owner. Andong is a city in Gyeongsangbuk-do Province in South Korea and is a three-hour bus ride from the capital city, Seoul.

After we had our sumptuous lunch and satisfied ourselves with the city’s specialty: Andong Jjimdak (spicy chicken with vegetables), we are now ready to explore the traditional folk village of Hahoe. Included in the entrance fee of KRW 3,000 is a shuttle bus service from the Tourist Information Center to the village itself. The distance going to the Hahoe Folk Village is about a two kilometers.

We had three hours to spare wandering around the village, so need to rush. We started our stroll at the area where there is a line of maple trees. The combination of red, yellow and orange leaves is quite a sight for a tropical girl like me who only experience green leaves throughout the year.

While roaming around, it was common sight to see the barrels line up the streets or in front of the houses. These barrels are used by the residents to preserve the condiments they used in their cooking. This reminded me of my childhood years when my grandmother used to dry the cucumber sorrel fruit that will be mixed in the soups she cooked. Ahh, province life… so relaxing.

It is observable that the village’s primary source of living is agriculture as there were a lot of different crops being grown and harvested.

The village has also the pine tree grove where we rested for a while since our feet were beginning to get tired from walking around. The wind was so cold yet refreshing.

Across the village is the Buyongdae Cliff where you can take a panoramic view of the entire village. To get to the cliff, we must cross the river by boat. We decided not to go to the cliff because it was already late in the afternoon and we may not be able to complete our tour of the village.

We were satisfied by the breathtaking view of the cliff from where we stood. By the way, the massive land in front of us is a river during spring and summer. But because it was autumn and nearly winter, the water dried up.

At first, we thought that the structure behind us was some kind of swing that is usually found at the playground. But we were wrong. I heard a guide tell her group that those structures are used to punish villagers who committed crimes. Those are used to hang criminals to their death… creepy.

This type of roof tile is common to all hanok or traditional houses. I don’t know, but I always find these roof tiles unusually amazing, so I took a photo 🙂

Now I know what kind of roof tiles will I use when I build my own dream house… LOL!

The silence while walking around the village was a little bit strange because I am not used to seeing only few people and not hearing noises typically heard at the cities.

Sometimes it is really good to escape the city life to meditate and relax.

Hahoe Folk Village is exceptionally beautiful because it has preserved its “traditional feel” and its natural environment. This was the old yet astonishing Korea before skyscrapers and subways were built. Although I only stayed here overnight, I must say that this was the best experience I had during my travel to South Korea.  The countryside ambiance, the cool-autumn wind, the deafening silence, the smell of traditional life all add up to my unique folk village experience at Andong. What an awesome feeling it is to travel to this place. I absolutely love it!

Tagged , ,

Leave a comment